June 16, 2024
Free Horoscope
Ask Astrology
Remembering Matthew Perry What Friends Cast's Tributes Teach Us About Grief and Ways to Cope

Remembering Matthew Perry: Friends Cast’s Tributes

The shocking news reverberated around the globe: at only 54 years old, actor Matthew Perry, known, among other roles, for portraying Chandler Bing in Friends, passed away at the end of October 2023. While fans of the series quickly paid tribute to the actor and the character, the Friends cast initially remained discreet, mourning privately. It wasn’t until November the 14th that the first messages were simultaneously posted on their social media accounts. How did the Friends actors pay tribute to Matthew Perry? How do you cope with the loss of a loved one, and how do you grieve?

In this post, we will delve into the heartfelt tributes shared in honor of Matthew Perry. Additionally, we will address the sensitive topic of grief, offering valuable advice to guide you through the challenging journey following the loss of a loved one.


Next after this publicity

“Thank you for your open heart in a six-way relationship that required compromise.”

Lisa Kudrow posted a photo of a photo. Regardless of the quality, it’s love and friendship that matter. She reminisces about their Friends years and Matthew Perry’s brilliant character. 


lisa kudrow


David Schwimmer fondly reminisced about the Friends years, highlighting Matthew Perry’s remarkable ability to bring laughter to both the stage and real life. He emphasized how Perry’s comedic talent enriched the show’s dynamic and created moments of joy for the cast and audience alike. 

Next after this publicity


david schwimmer


Matt Le Blanc mentioned the unwavering friendship he had with Matthew Perry: “It was an honor to share the stage with you and to call you my friend. I will always smile when I think of you and I’ll never forget you.” To lighten the mood, he reprises his role as Joey Tribbiani and concludes with a joke: “And I guess you’re keeping the 20 bucks you owe me.” 


matt leblanc

Next after this publicity


Courteney Cox, in her heartfelt tribute, honored the memory of “Matty” and the camaraderie she experienced with Chandler. As Monica, Chandler’s on-screen wife, she reflected on the cherished moments of connection and shared laughter that defined their bond throughout the Friends years. 


courteney cox


Finally, Jennifer Aniston shared her grief, the loss of her “little brother.” The flow of her words shows that the Friends family has endured through the years, even more than 20 years after the series ended: “In the last couple of weeks, I’ve been poring over our texts to one another. Laughing and crying then laughing again. I’ll keep them forever and ever.” 

jennifer aniston


The Friends were touched by the loss of one of their own and aim to give him the tribute he deserves. Rumors suggest that the actors are considering organizing a public tribute at the Emmy Awards scheduled for January 2024.

This tragedy reminds us that there is no universal way to grieve. Everyone reacts differently to the loss of a loved one. Some prefer silence, seeking comfort in solitude, while others express their sadness aloud, shouting their pain in the hope of lightening their heavy hearts. If you are currently going through the painful experience of losing a loved one, we invite you to continue reading our article for advice and support tailored to your grieving journey.

Grieving: How to Overcome It?

The 7 stages of grief

The grieving process is often described in seven stages, and it is imperative to go through each one to initiate the path to reconstruction.

  1. Shock: individuals may experience a numbing of emotions, where they might not feel anything.
  2. Denial: defense mechanism to reject information and shield oneself from the pain associated with it.
  3. Anger: it often manifests as a sense of injustice, and may even evoke feelings of repulsion and disgust.
  4. Sadness: this period of despair is crucial in the grieving process. The profound sense of loss becomes deeply felt, and the individual grapples with the emotional weight of the absence.
  5. Resignation: The grieving person loses their bearings and hope, losing the battle.
  6. Acceptance: The person acknowledges and recalls both the good and bad moments, relearning how to live.
  7. Reconstruction: At this stage, the grieving person rediscovers a taste for life and becomes aware of their existence once again. They start making plans.


Accept and wait

This advice, while simple, proves to be one of the most realistic and effective. It relies on the inevitable acceptance of the reality of grief and, above all, on the need to never deny the suffering it generates. Death and endings are intrinsic aspects of life, and recognizing this reality can be the first step towards true healing. Accepting the inevitable is not only an act of courage but also a way to allow the pain to express itself and follow its natural course, thus paving the way for understanding and reconstruction.

Next, you must wait. Waiting, although difficult, allows this natural process to unfold, providing the opportunity to understand, accept, and progress to a new phase of life after the loss of a loved one.

You must experience and fully embrace your emotions to move forward. The grieving process demands to be lived and accepted, even if it brings intense pain. It is by experiencing your emotions that you will understand them and accept your pain.

When you start feeling better, don’t hesitate to welcome positive emotions. Getting better does not mean forgetting; it also doesn’t mean stopping thinking about the person you lost. On the contrary, allow yourself to appreciate moments of joy and happiness while honoring the memory of your loved one. Healing doesn’t erase the past; it simply allows you to learn to live with the loss.


Activities to Feel Better

Express yourself through artistic activities such as coloring, painting, or even singing loudly and dancing for hours. These creative practices are often effective ways to divert the mind while reflecting the depth of your thoughts.

You can write the thread of your thoughts in a journal. To help you, we have developed journal prompts for each zodiac sign.

You can also meditate. Guided meditations can provide guidance, but if you know the practice, you can also meditate in the way that suits you best.



Grieving has no strict rules. It is unique, shaped by the departed person and the relationship we had with them. Avoid imposing unnecessary pressures on yourself; live each moment, even in its pain. Better days will come, and despite the passing of time, you will never forget the person who holds a special place in your heart and is dearly missed.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.